Guide

Choosing orthoptist practice software in France: criteria and prices 2026

Updated on 12 October 2026 · Sources

Choosing orthoptics practice software is a commitment for several years: it holds your billing, your patient files and a large share of your admin time. This guide reviews the criteria that really matter for an independent orthoptist in France, the questions to ask vendors and the price ranges published in 2026.

Prices quoted come from the vendors’ official websites, checked on 29 September 2026. When a vendor does not publish a piece of information, we say so.

Guide written by HERVE SAS, publisher of the HerVé software and partner of the Relais Vision network. We aimed to remain neutral: the criteria apply to every software, and the presentation of HerVé is grouped in a dedicated section at the end of the guide.

1. SESAM-Vitale: FSE and teletransmission

For an orthoptist working under the national health insurance agreement, this is the deal-breaker. The software must read the Vitale card and the CPS professional card, produce the electronic claim form (FSE), transmit it to national and complementary insurers, then process the returns: acknowledgements, payments, rejections. Without it, you will need to keep separate teletransmission software.

Be careful: not every tool marketed as “orthoptist software” offers it. Some recent tools, focused on scheduling or clinical work, explicitly state that they do not handle FSE or teletransmission and offer an export to other software. Others offer it as an optional module with a separate subscription.

  • Are FSE and teletransmission included in the subscription or charged as an option?
  • Which card readers are compatible, and are they supplied, rented or to be bought?
  • Does the software handle SCOR (supporting documents), ADRi (patient rights check) and the Vitale card app?
  • How are rejections shown and how do you fix them?

2. Orthoptics-specific NGAP coding

Orthoptic procedures are coded with the AMY key letter, with different coefficients for assessments and rehabilitation sessions. Good software comes with these procedures pre-configured, checks common incompatibilities and updates when the fee schedule changes, without you having to re-enter prices.

Multi-specialty suites generally cover NGAP, but orthoptic configuration is sometimes less detailed than in dedicated software. Ask for a demo with your most frequent procedures, including any extra fees and procedures outside the schedule.

3. Orthoptic assessment and reports

The orthoptic assessment is at the heart of the profession: acuity, motility, binocular vision, stereopsis, fusional amplitudes, coordimetry… A medical record built for orthoptics should allow structured entry of these measurements, easy access to previous values and a readable report for the prescribing doctor.

Several vendors now offer AI-assisted writing: report generation from entered data, voice dictation, letters to the prescriber. It saves real time, provided you can review and edit the text and know where data sent to the AI model is processed (hosting, subcontractors, transfers outside the European Union).

4. Rehabilitation follow-up

Orthoptic rehabilitation spans several sessions. The software should let you plan the series, track the number of sessions completed against the prescription, record changes in measurements and, ideally, display them as charts. This makes the end-of-treatment report to the doctor easier.

5. Tele-orthoptics and tele-expertise with the ophthalmologist

Cooperation between orthoptists and ophthalmologists is growing, notably for screening and renewal of optical prescriptions. Two models coexist: software that builds in tele-expertise with the ophthalmologists you already work with, or a platform backed by a network of reading ophthalmologists, with its own membership terms.

Check how exams (refraction, tonometry, retinal images) are transmitted, how quickly the ophthalmologist replies, and how the procedure is billed and recorded in the patient file.

6. Calendar and online booking

If you already use a booking platform (Doctolib, Maiia…), the key question is sync: two-way (appointments created on one side appear on the other), read-only, or none. Incomplete sync leads to double entry and duplicate bookings.

Some software includes its own online booking module, sometimes as a paid option. Also look at SMS reminders (included or per volume) and waiting-list management.

7. Interoperability: DMP, MSSanté, INSi

Feeding the DMP (Mon espace santé), secure health messaging (MSSanté) and the national health identifier (INS) are core French e-health services. Availability varies between software: some list them, others announce them as coming soon.

Ask the vendor for the exact list of services available today, not just those on the roadmap.

8. Health data hosting (HDS) and GDPR

Online software hosts health data: the host must be HDS-certified, as required by article L. 1111-8 of the French public health code. In practice, it is often the host (the infrastructure provider) that holds the certification, not the software publisher itself. Both situations are common; what matters is that the vendor says so clearly.

On GDPR, check where data is stored (France, European Union or elsewhere), the list of subcontractors (including for AI and SMS), how you can export your data at the end of the contract and whether a data processing agreement is provided.

9. 100% web or installed software?

Software installed on a Windows PC works offline and can feel reassuring. In return, it requires backups, updates on each computer, sometimes a server for multi-user work, and a reinstall every time you change computer.

100% web software runs on any device (Mac, PC, tablet, smartphone), updates itself and makes home visits and multi-site work easier. It requires a reliable internet connection. Be wary of “online” solutions that still require a specific operating system or browser extension: read the minimum requirements.

10. 2026 public prices and hidden costs

For software that includes teletransmission, published prices range from about €30 to €50 per month per practitioner, excluding options. Tools without teletransmission are cheaper (from free to around €60 per month) but require separate software to bill national health insurance. Several vendors publish no price at all.

Public prices collected from official websites on 29 September 2026. VAT as stated by the vendor.
SoftwareSESAM-VitalePublic priceTerms and options
Orthomax by TopazeYes€29.90/month (VAT not specified)1-year commitment; readers, mobility and telehealth optional (prices not published)
DrSantéYes€32 incl. VAT/month/user (€384/year)12-month commitment; cloud +€12 incl. VAT/month, cloud + mobile +€18 incl. VAT/month
VEGAYesFrom €45/month (VAT not specified)No commitment; readers and CLICKDOC calendar extra
Acteur.fr (Aatlantide)Yes€48 incl. VAT/month€399 incl. VAT set-up fee; online booking optional (€69 incl. VAT/month)
Cegedim Ortho +4000YesNot publishedOn demo
OrthopVisionOptional moduleNot publishedTeletransmission as a separate subscription
TemeooYes (optional practice software)On requestPlans tied to the tele-ophthalmology network
MaddieNot disclosedFree, €39 or €59/monthCalendar, online booking, payments
HouseMedNo (per the vendor)€15/month per practitionerNo commitment
LyloxNo (per the vendor)€25/month (VAT not applicable)Clinical tool; €99/month up to 5 practitioners

Beyond the subscription, list the costs that do not always appear on the pricing page: installation or set-up fees, training, card readers (purchase or rental), mobile or cloud options, SMS reminders, online booking module, card payment fees, extra workstation or site, and commitment period. Compare over one year, for your actual setup.

11. How to choose practice management software: the grid

How should a healthcare professional, and an orthoptist in particular, choose practice management software? Start by ruling out software that does not cover SESAM-Vitale billing, then compare the others on the criteria below during your demos. Score each software on what matters for your practice.

CriterionQuestion to askWhy it matters
SESAM-VitaleFSE and teletransmission included?Otherwise separate software is needed
Orthoptic NGAPAMY procedures pre-configured and updated?Fewer errors and rejections
Assessments and reportsStructured entry? Writing assistance?Admin time
RehabilitationSession and progress tracking?End-of-treatment report
Tele-expertiseWith your ophthalmologists or through a platform network?How you organize your work
CalendarTwo-way sync with your booking platform?Avoid double entry
DMP, MSSanté, INSiAvailable today or coming soon?Exchanges with other clinicians
HostingHDS-certified host? Where is the data?Legal requirement and GDPR
ArchitectureWeb or installed? Minimum requirements?Mobility and maintenance
Total costSet-up, options, payment fees, commitment?Real budget over one year

Where does HerVé fit?

HerVé is 100% web software dedicated to independent orthoptists, published by HERVE SAS, a partner of the Relais Vision network. Every plan includes a calendar synced with Doctolib, the patient file, SESAM-Vitale electronic claims (FSE) and teletransmission, AI-assisted report writing, orthoptist-ophthalmologist telemedicine and Tap to Pay card payments on smartphone.

With an entry price of €49 excl. VAT/month with no commitment, HerVé sits at the upper end of the range for software with teletransmission, with more features included and no installation fee.

Current HerVé prices (billing API). Annual commitment: -9%.
PlanMonthly, no commitmentWith annual commitmentScopeTap to Pay fees
Starter€49 excl. VAT/month€44.59 excl. VAT/month1 orthoptist, 1 site10%
Independent€74 excl. VAT/month€67.34 excl. VAT/monthUp to 2 users, 2 sites0%
Medical Office€84 excl. VAT/month€76.44 excl. VAT/monthUnlimited users and sites (2 sites included)0%
  • Installation fee waived on every plan.
  • Medical Office plan: unlimited sites, 2 included, then €39 excl. VAT/month per extra site (€35.49 excl. VAT/month with an annual commitment).
  • Health data hosted by an HDS-certified provider (Cloud Advice). Health data hosted in France / European Union. Encryption in transit (TLS 1.2+) and at rest (AES-256).
  • DMP, MSSanté and Ordoclic: coming soon. If you need these services today, factor that in.
  • 15-day free trial. A credit card is required to start the trial; the first charge happens after the 15 days.

15-day free trial. A credit card is required to start the trial; the first charge happens after the 15 days.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best practice software for orthoptists?

There is no single best software: the right choice depends on how you practise. For an independent orthoptist billing national health insurance, first shortlist software that includes SESAM-Vitale FSE billing and teletransmission, orthoptic NGAP coding and a patient file suited to assessments and rehabilitation. Then compare the calendar (Doctolib sync), tele-expertise, HDS hosting and total cost over a year.

How should a healthcare professional choose practice management software?

List your procedures and your organisation (solo or group, one or several sites, home visits), rule out software without SESAM-Vitale teletransmission if you bill national health insurance, then compare in demos: coding, patient file, calendar, interoperability (DMP, MSSanté), HDS hosting, web or installed architecture and total cost. Use the trial period to test with real patients.

How much does orthoptist software cost in 2026?

Based on vendors’ published prices, software including SESAM-Vitale teletransmission costs about €30 to €50 per month per practitioner, excluding options and set-up fees. Tools without teletransmission range from free to around €60 per month, but require separate software to bill national health insurance.

Can software without teletransmission be enough?

For an orthoptist billing national health insurance, it will need to be complemented by teletransmission software. This type of tool can suit you if you already have satisfactory billing software or mostly work outside the fee schedule.

Web or installed software: which should I choose?

Installed software works offline but requires backups and updates. Web software works everywhere and updates itself, but needs a reliable connection. If you work on several sites or on home visits, web is often more convenient.

Who must be HDS-certified: the publisher or the host?

HDS certification covers the hosting of health data. Many publishers rely on an HDS-certified host without being certified themselves. Ask for the host’s name and where data is stored.

How do I switch software without interrupting billing?

Test the new software during the trial, have your data imported, then pick a switchover date. Keep the old software available while you process the last teletransmission returns and rejections, and check when your commitment ends.

Sources

Official vendor pages consulted for this guide. Prices and features may change: check them with each vendor.