Orthoptist software: comparisons and alternatives

Sourced comparisons between HerVé and the main software used by independent orthoptists in France, so you can choose with full information.

Updated on 29 September 2026

How to choose orthoptist practice software

Practice software is the tool you open for every patient: it holds the calendar, the patient file, the orthoptic assessment, billing and, increasingly, exchanges with ophthalmologists. Switching software is a project in itself, so it is worth comparing on concrete criteria rather than on a sales brochure.

First criterion: billing. Check that the software handles the Vitale card, electronic claim forms (FSE) and SESAM-Vitale teletransmission, the NGAP codes specific to orthoptics (AMY, assessments, rehabilitation sessions) and rejection follow-up. Second criterion: architecture. Software installed on a Windows PC keeps working offline but requires backups and updates; a 100% web solution runs on any device and updates itself, provided you have a reliable connection.

Third criterion: day-to-day tools. Calendar and online booking, report templates (or AI-assisted writing), tele-expertise with ophthalmologists, card payments. Finally, look at compliance (an HDS-certified host for health data, GDPR) and total cost: subscription, installation fees, payment fees, extra workstations or sites, paid options.

The comparisons below apply these criteria software by software. They are written by the publisher of HerVé, so we always state our sources (the vendors’ official websites) and the date we checked them, and we write “Not disclosed by the vendor” when a piece of information is not published. If you spot an error, contact us and we will fix it.

Read the full guide: criteria and prices 2026

Orthoptist software comparison table

Information collected from the vendors’ official websites on 29 September 2026 (detailed sources on each comparison page). Prices excl. VAT unless stated otherwise.

SoftwareSESAM-Vitale100% webOnline bookingAI reportsTelemedicinePublic price
HerVéYes (FSE + teletransmission)Yes (+ mobile apps)Built-in calendar + Doctolib syncYesYes (orthoptist-ophthalmologist)From €49 excl. VAT/month, no commitment
VEGAYes (FSE + teletransmission)No (installed Windows software)CLICKDOC online calendar (extra cost)Not disclosed by the vendorCLICKDOC teleconsultationFrom €45/month, no commitment (VAT not specified)
Cegedim Ortho +4000Yes (FSE-DRE, SCOR, TPAMC)No (local install, remote network access)Maiia AgendaNot disclosed by the vendorMaiia TeleconsultationNot disclosed by the vendor
DrSantéYes (FSE + teletransmission)Choice of local, cloud or hybridVia Doctolib partnershipNot disclosed by the vendorNot disclosed by the vendor€32 incl. VAT/month/user (€384/year), cloud +€12 incl. VAT/month
MaddieNot disclosed by the vendorYesYes (from the Essentiel plan)Not disclosed by the vendorNot disclosed by the vendorFree, €39/month (Essentiel), €59/month (Pro)
TemeooYes (Vitale card + teletransmission, optional practice software)YesCalendar imported from the booking platformNot disclosed by the vendorYes (core offer, Temeoo ophthalmologist network)On request
Acteur.frYes (SESAM-Vitale 1.40, SCOR)Online, Windows 10/11 requiredContactSanté option (€69 incl. VAT/month)Not disclosed by the vendorNot disclosed by the vendor€48 incl. VAT/month + €399 incl. VAT set-up fee
OrthopVisionOptional module (PyxVital), separate subscriptionNo (Windows software)Not disclosed by the vendorNot disclosed by the vendorNot disclosed by the vendorNot disclosed by the vendor
Topaze / OrthomaxYes (FSE, SCOR, ADRi)Yes (+ iOS/Android apps)Calendar + SMS reminders; online booking not disclosedAI for prescriptions (SmartOrdo)Telehealth (option)€29.90/month, 1-year commitment (VAT not specified)
HouseMedNo (per the vendor)Yes (+ mobile app)YesNot disclosed by the vendorVideo teleconsultation€15/month per practitioner (VAT not specified)
LyloxNo (per the vendor)Yes (installable web app)Reads Doctolib, Maiia, KelDoc, Google calendarsYes (reports, assessments, letters)Not disclosed by the vendor€25/month (VAT not applicable); €99/month up to 5 practitioners

Comparisons written by HERVE SAS, publisher of HerVé and partner of the Relais Vision network. Competitor information checked on official websites on the date shown.

All comparisons

HerVé vs VEGA

Practice management and teletransmission software for paramedical professions published by Epsilog (CompuGroup Medical group), installed on Windows PCs, with an orthoptist offer.

See comparison

HerVé vs Cegedim Ortho +4000

Orthoptist software from Cegedim Santé’s +4000 range (which also includes Medi +4000), installed locally and paired with Maiia Agenda; over 1,100 users reported.

See comparison

HerVé vs DrSanté

Practice software for paramedical professions, including orthoptists, available as local, cloud or hybrid install, with a public per-user price.

See comparison

HerVé vs Maddie

Online software for orthoptists focused on the calendar, online booking, payments and the practice website, with a free plan.

See comparison

HerVé vs Temeoo

Tele-ophthalmology solution for orthoptists, with a network of reading ophthalmologists and optional web practice software (Vitale card, teletransmission).

See comparison

HerVé vs Acteur.fr

Online software range from Aatlantide (CompuGroup Medical group) for several professions including orthoptists: full practice management or SESAM-Vitale billing only.

See comparison

HerVé vs OrthopVision

Orthoptist software published by RealVision, “designed and programmed by and for orthoptists”, running on Windows, with built-in 2035 accounting.

See comparison

HerVé vs Topaze / Orthomax

Orthomax by Topaze (Sofia group): 100% web software for independent speech therapists and orthoptists, with SESAM-Vitale billing, mobile apps and a public price.

See comparison

HerVé vs HouseMed

Web practice software for independent practitioners (12 professions including orthoptics), without SESAM-Vitale billing, at €15/month per practitioner.

See comparison

HerVé vs Lylox

Clinical web tool for orthoptists, physiotherapists and speech therapists launched in 2026: assessments, progress charts and AI-written reports, without SESAM-Vitale billing.

See comparison
15-day free trial

15-day free trial. A credit card is required to start the trial; the first charge happens after the 15 days.