Orthomax and HerVé are both 100% web software with SESAM-Vitale billing. Orthomax comes from speech therapy and focuses on a low entry price; HerVé is designed for orthoptics, with AI for reports and orthoptist-ophthalmologist telemedicine.
Updated on 29 September 2026 · Sources
The two solutions have a lot in common: web access from any device, mobile apps, national health insurance billing, HDS hosting. The differences lie in specialization, AI, telemedicine and pricing model.
Orthomax has historically served speech therapists and much of its features page is written for them. HerVé is designed for orthoptists only: assessments, rehabilitation, AMY coding.
HerVé writes reports in 2 clicks from consultation data. Orthomax’s AI (SmartOrdo) pre-fills prescriptions from a photo of the doctor’s prescription.
Coordination with the ophthalmologist is built into HerVé. Orthomax offers a Telehealth option focused on remote patient follow-up.
HerVé is available from €49 excl. VAT/month with no commitment (€44.59 excl. VAT/month with an annual commitment). Orthomax lists €29.90/month with a one-year commitment.
Appointments booked on Doctolib are synced both ways with the HerVé calendar.
Card payments with an iPhone or Android: 0% fees from the Independent plan, 10% on Starter.
Orthomax is published by SOFIA DEV (Sofia group), which also publishes Topaze, the group’s software for physiotherapists: the “orthoptist practice software” page on topaze.com actually redirects to orthomax.fr. The vendor states that Orthomax has served independent speech therapists and orthoptists “for more than 30 years”, first as teletransmission software, then as “Orthomax by Topaze” after joining the Sofia group in 2021. Published figures relate to the group (more than 300 employees, more than 40,000 equipped health professionals, including 5,000 speech therapists); no number of orthoptist users is disclosed.
According to its FAQ, Orthomax is “100% web software”, accessible from a computer, tablet or smartphone, with iOS and Android apps and hosting on an HDS-certified server. The orthoptist page lists patient files, entry of procedures and prescriptions, billing to national and complementary insurers, teletransmission (SCOR, SESAM-Vitale), support for the orthoptist NGAP codes, calendar, unpaid invoice management, insurer QR code scanning, SMS reminders, mobile billing and telehealth. The “SmartOrdo” AI pre-fills prescriptions from a photo. Accounting is not built in: the vendor offers a separate service, Comptasanté, with a partner firm.
On pricing, the pricing page shows “€29.90 / month — software + mobile app included”, without stating whether VAT is included, with a one-year commitment and a sliding scale from the 2nd practitioner. Card readers and the Mobiliti and Telehealth options are optional, with no published price. The vendor mentions FAMI eligibility, remote installation by a technician and data import from other software. Orthomax is therefore a serious, budget-friendly option; HerVé stands out with its orthoptics focus, AI for reports, telemedicine with the ophthalmologist and no commitment.
| Feature | HerVé | Topaze / Orthomax |
|---|---|---|
| Publisher | HERVE SAS | SOFIA DEV (Sofia group) |
| Target professions | Orthoptics | Speech therapy and orthoptics |
| Architecture | 100% web + mobile apps | 100% web + iOS/Android apps |
| SESAM-Vitale | Yes (FSE + teletransmission) | Yes (SESAM-Vitale, SCOR, ADRi) |
| AI | Report writing | Prescription pre-filling (SmartOrdo) |
| Telemedicine | Built-in orthoptist-ophthalmologist | Telehealth option |
| Calendar | Built in + Doctolib sync | Built in + SMS reminders |
| Payments | Tap to Pay (0% fees from Indépendant, 10% on Starter) | Not disclosed by the vendor |
| DMP, MSSanté | Coming soon | Listed in the vendor’s FAQ |
| Accounting | Accounting exports | Separate Comptasanté service |
| Health data hosting | HDS-certified host (Cloud Advice) | HDS-certified server (per the vendor) |
| Public price | From €49 excl. VAT/month, no commitment | €29.90/month, 1-year commitment (VAT not specified) |
Transparency
Comparison written by HERVE SAS, publisher of HerVé and partner of the Relais Vision network. Competitor information checked on official websites on the date shown.
Updated on 29 September 2026 · Sources
Yes. According to its FAQ, Orthomax is 100% web software accessible from any browser, with iOS and Android apps. The two mainly differ in specialization and features (AI, telemedicine, Doctolib calendar).
Orthomax’s entry price (€29.90/month, 1-year commitment, card reader and telehealth options not priced) is lower than HerVé’s (€49 excl. VAT/month with no commitment, €44.59 excl. VAT/month with an annual commitment). HerVé includes AI for reports, orthoptist-ophthalmologist telemedicine and Doctolib sync. Compare based on the features you will actually use.
Not yet: these integrations are coming to HerVé. SESAM-Vitale billing (FSE + teletransmission) is available.
Yes. Our team helps import patient data from the available exports. Take your Orthomax annual commitment into account when choosing the switchover date.
15-day free trial. A credit card is required to start the trial; the first charge happens after the 15 days. Monthly plans with no commitment.
Orthomax and Topaze are trademarks of their publisher (Sofia group). This page is an editorial comparison and is not affiliated with the Sofia group.